Please send us all your latest News and Results

For information on how to send News Items see the Contacts Page

Competition Results 2018

Competition Results from 2018. Results are listed below

Top of Page »»

24th Great Northern Festival 2018

Was held on Friday 30th November to Sunday 2nd December 2018
at The Hough End Centre, Mauldeth Road West, Chorlton, Manchester, M21 7SX

The Friday evening saw a presentation 'Mood and Music' by Judith Kimber from Belfast

Judith has been a secondary school music teacher for thirty years. For the last sixteen of those, Head of Music at Strathearn School in Belfast, her home city. She has been taking photographs seriously for the last five years, and learnt a huge amount since joining Bangor and North Down Camera Club. Her friends and mentors there also introduced her to the art of AV, and she found this medium attractive from the start because it offers such great opportunities for combining music and photography. She particularly enjoys composing music for her own AV’s.

Judith’s talk was excellent and pitched so that whatever your musical knowledge there was something for everyone.
She demonstrated by using different pieces of music that you can alter the mood and feeling of your AV.
She also showed the thought process behind the music from her own AV's and how she had used a small musical 'motif' to represent the different characters that was used throughout the sequence.

On Saturday & Sunday the two Competitions were judged
'New Horizons' (Restricted Entry) & 'Great Northern' (open)

The Jury for this event were:-

  • Malcolm Imhoff - Chairman of the Jury
  • Suzanne Gregory
  • Jeff Mansell

The top Awards went to:-

Great Northern Competition
PAGB Gold Medal Kelpies Howard Bagshaw  
PAGB Silver Medal The Dance Goes On Graham Sergeant  
PAGB Bronze Medal Lifeline Malcolm & Jenny Gee  
Howard Gregory Memorial Trophy
Most Creative Soundtrack
  Kelpies Howard Bagshaw  
New Horizons Competition
L&CPU Gold Medal Winner
  Mrs Heelis Brenda Stone  
2nd Place Jack Frost Peter Warner  
3rd Place Vanessa's Story Eric Davies  

Top of Page »» Website»» Programme »» Full Results »»

23rd RPS International AV Festival

Was held on Saturday 22nd to Sunday 23rd September 2018
at Cheltenham

The Jury for this event were:-

  • Ian Bateman
  • Willem van den Berg
  • Ravi Deepres

The top Awards went to:-

RPS Gold Medal In Search of Christina Richard Brown
FIAP Gold Medal The Dance Goes On Graham Sergeant
George & Doreen Pollock Medal
  A Northumberland Farm Brian Rogers

The RPS AV Group awarded 3 Dobson Henry Medals. This medal is given for services to AV and the recipients were Ian Bateman; Lilian Webb; Lorenzo de Francesco

Lorenzo, Ian, & Lilian Dobson Henry Medal

Citation for Ian Bateman (PDF)
Citation for Lilian Webb (PDF)
Citation for Lorenzo de Francesco (PDF)

Qualifications for Receiving and Previous Recipients (PDF)

Top of Page »» FIAP Catalogue (PDF) »» Results (PDF) »» Entries (PDF) »»

PAGB Awards for Photographic Merit in AV

Was held on Friday 25th to Sunday 27th May 2018
at Wilmslow Guild, 1 Bourne Street, Wilmslow, Cheshire SK9 5HD

Hosted by the Wilmslow Guild AV Group
in association with the Great Northern Festival AV Group

The Adjudication Panel were:-

  • Robert Albright Chairman
  • Howard Bagshaw
  • Ian Bateman
  • Richard Spiers
  • Howard Tate

The Friday was a workshop/advisory evening, featuring previous award winning Sequences and also work by prospective entrants for future awards.
The Adjudication Panel gave constructive comments on the work shown.

On Saturday 19 applications for CPAGB/AV were viewed with 10 being successful

Present to receive their awards were:- Back-L to R - Alastair Taylor, Peter Budd, Gordon Jenkins (PAGB President), Steve Kirkby & Keith Watson. Front L to R - Colin Birch, Roger Gage, Chris Bate & David Gibbins


Sunday saw 9 DPAGB/AV appications with 5 being successful
Alan Tyrer, James Hamill & Judith Kimber were present


Another Adjudication is planned for 2019

Top of Page »» Full Awards »»

IAC Peter Coles International

Was held on Saturday 10th to Sunday 11th March 2018
at The Community Centre, Capel Curig, North Wales LL24 0EE

Organised by the North Wales & Wirral AV Group

The Jury for this event were:-

  • Ron Davies
  • Linda Gough
  • Michael Gough

The top Awards went to:-

Gold Medal Yellow Bracelets Giuliano Mazzanti ITA
Silver Medal The Night I Fell For You Keith Leedham UK
Bronze Medal The Wall Jean Paul Petit FRA
George & Doreen Pollock Medal - Best First Time Entrant
  Sequence Maurizio Grandi ITA

Next Year's Event will be held on 9th & 10th March 2019

Top of Page »» Results (PDF) »» Entries (PDF) »»

FIAP Distinctions

FIAP have revised the rules for their AV Distinctions with effect from 1st January 2018.

FIAP revised Rules

Top of Page »»